Search This Site

76 Fall Street
Seneca Falls, NY 13148

Women of the Hall

Sort by:
First Name Last Name Year Honored Birth Death Born In Born In Country
Stephanie L. Kwolek
Honored: 2003 (1923 - 2014)
Interested in science and medicine from a young age, Kwolek graduated from Carnegie Institute of Technology and then took a job at DuPont Chemicals to save for graduate studies. However, her love of working with polymers kept her at DuPont, where she discovered the fiber that led to the development of Kevlar, a bulletproof material five times stronger than steel. Kwolek is the recipient or co-recipient of 17 U.S. patents.
Susan Kelly-Dreiss
Honored: 2009 (1942 - )
Susan Kelly-Dreiss has worked for over 30 years to enact legal protections, implement innovative services and heighten public awareness on behalf of battered women and their children. In 1976, Kelly-Dreiss lobbied for passage of Pennsylvania's first domestic violence law, and later that same year, she co-founded the nation's first domestic violence coalition, the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic Violence (PCADV). She was a founding member of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, and has played a key role in drafting federal legislation including the Federal Violence Prevention and Services Act and the Violence Against Women Act.
Susan Solomon
Honored: 2009 (1956 - )
An internationally recognized leader in the field of atmospheric science, Susan Solomon pioneered the theory explaining how and why the ozone hole occurs in Antarctica, and obtained some of the first chemical measurements that established man-made chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) as its cause. Solomon is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 1999 National Medal of Science and the Asahi Foundation of Japan's Blue Planet Prize in 2004. From 2002-2008, Solomon served as the co-chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), which shared the Nobel Peace Prize with Albert Gore, Jr. in 2007. Solomon's current research as a senior scientist with the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration focuses on climate change, ozone depletion and the links between the two.
Susan B. Anthony
Honored: 1973 (1820 - 1906)
The women's movement's most powerful organizer whose lifetime of dedication, and work with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, paved the way for women's right to vote. Her words "Men their rights and nothing more; women their rights and nothing less," expressed the ongoing struggle for equality.
Susette La Flesche
Honored: 1994 (1854 - 1903)
Member of the Omaha Tribe and a tireless campaigner for native American rights. La Flesche was the first Native American published lecturer, artist and author. She helped change national perceptions about the rights of Native Americans.
Swanee Hunt
Honored: 2007 (1950 - )
Swanee Hunt is the former Director of the Women and Public Policy Program at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government. An internationally recognized expert on foreign affairs and diplomacy, Hunt is heralded for her trailblazing work to increase the participation and inclusion of women in peace processes around the world. She is also President of Hunt Alternatives Fund, a private foundation committed to advancing social change at local, national and global levels.
Sylvia A. Earle
Honored: 2000 (1935 - )
An undersea explorer since age 13, Earle became an internationally recognized marine biologist, author, lecturer and scientific consultant. Denied the opportunity to participate in the U.S. Navy "Tektite Project" to study the ocean, she founded "Tektite II", an all-female expedition that spent two weeks exploring the ocean floor. The founder of two companies to design and build undersea vehicles, she is chief scientist and consultant to oceanographic and marine research centers throughout the world.
Victoria Woodhull
Honored: 2001 (1838 - 1927)
A 19th century reformer, Victoria Woodhull established a reputation as a radical freethinking reformer. She was a suffragist, author, political activist, and the first woman to run for President of the United States (1872).
Virginia Apgar
Honored: 1995 (1909 - 1974)
Physician best known for development of the Apgar Score in 1952. This system of simple tests is used to determine whether a newborn child requires special medical attention, and it has saved thousands of lives.
Wilhelmina Cole Holladay
Honored: 1996 (1922 - )
Founder of the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, D.C., which brings national and international attention to the vast achievements of women in art.